Library Leaders

February 26, 2007

Mentoring

Filed under: leadership,library profession,mentoring — wenlib @ 8:59 am

Inspired by our talk of being an aid to the next generation, I recently volunteered to be a mentor to a student at Western.  (That sudden whooshing sound is years flying by – it was stunning to realize that it’s been 17 years since I graduated from UWO! ACK!)

 I had to smile when the student asked me (in slightly woeful tones) if she really had to join associations and schmooze as she had heard at school. Although I can remember feeling the same reluctance at that point in my career, I couldn’t honestly tell her that she can cruise through her career without becoming involved in the larger life of her profession. There are *lots* of people who do (too many), but the benefits you gain from being able to share with others who share the same perspective, challenges and context are so significant that I think you do yourself and your employer a disservice if you don’t participate.

 Rob Hyndman is going to be speaking to TALL next month on Web 2.0 – I think the new technologies are fantastic, and I’m eagerly learning everything I can about them. But in the end, they are merely a new forum – a new way to transmit the impulse to share.

We need to continue to encourage that impulse, regardless of the form it takes.

 Wendy

1 Comment »

  1. There is schmoozing, and then there is networking. I am not out there to make fake friends to hopefully finance projects (as in the film or entertainment industry). Instead, I am there to make real connections to people who are doing what I am doing, to learn from them and hopefully build some mutual support system. And that can be on a quiet, one-to-one basis. Having lunch with one colleague/friend is just as worthwhile with regard to networking as trying to work a room of 50 people at an event, or perhaps even more so.

    Comment by connie — March 1, 2007 @ 10:19 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

